Shostakovich 12

Date: 12/10/2017
Venue: Neuadd Dewi Sant / St David's Hall
Time: 19:30

Shostakovich 12     BBC National Orchestra of Wales  

Mosolov   Iron Foundry

Beethoven       Piano Concerto No. 5 (Emperor)

Shostakovich     Symphony No. 12 (The Year 1917)

Conductor     Thomas Søndergård

Piano      Igor Levit

Shostakovich’s 12th ‘The Year of 1917’, premiered in 1961, was commissioned for the 22nd Communist Party Congress as a commemoration of Lenin and the 1917 revolution; in contrast Soviet composer Alexander Mosolov’s Iron Foundry transforms the orchestra into an avant-garde industrial machine.