From Russia… With Love

Date: 20/10/2017
Venue: Neuadd Dewi Sant / St David’s Hall, Caerdydd / Cardiff
Time: 19:30

From Russia…With Love

CARDIFF PHILHARMONIC ORCHESTRA’S 2017/18 season starts in style with the fiery passion of From Russia…With Love on Friday 20 October.

Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No. 2 forms a fascinating centre-piece to this programme, and is familiar to film fans as the romantic music featured in Brief Encounter. Accompanying the orchestra is 2014 BBC Young Musician of the Year, Martin James Bartlett for what will be a compelling performance of this classic.

Likewise, there’s the sumptuous Adagio from Khachaturian’s Spartacus, which memorably introduced the popular TV series The Onedin Line. Plus, the concert closes with Stravinsky’s colourful ballet Petrushka, which conjures vivid images of puppets springing to life!

“A natural and powerful musician, he lives and breathes music” - Violinist Nicola Benedetti on Martin James Barlett 

Khachaturian Adagio (from Spartacus) 

Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor 

Stravinsky Petrushka

Cardiff Philharmonic Orchestra

Michael Bell Conductor

Martin James Bartlett Piano