Cardiff University Symphony Orchestra

Date: 26/11/2017
Venue: Neuadd Dewi Sant, Caerdydd / St David's Hall, Cardiff
Time: 15:00

Cardiff University Symphony Orchestra

Mark Eager - Conductor


Shostakovich - Festive Overture

Prokofiev - Lieutenant Kijé Suite

Tchaikovsky - Symphony No. 2

Prokofiev and Shostakovich, estranged from their homeland for many years, were eventually invited to return.  Shostakovich composed the lively Festive Overture to commemorate the Revolution’s 37th anniversary.  Prokofiev’s film score to Lieutenant Kijé allowed him to compose without incurring the authorities’ wrath. Good-humoured and uplifting, Tchaikovsky’s 2nd Symphony, nicknamed Little Russian, was inspired by folksongs heard during visits to his sister’s home in the Ukraine.